top of page

Week 3 Reflection

This week was a good one. This was the final week of learning about how to more effectively redesign the classroom. I think it is a really good idea to take a step back and keep thinking about the process involved because by rushing through with it, you end up not being nearly as creative. After all, the very first project with Melvin the Dwarf kind of ended

I swear I'm not taking selfies on Priya's phone

okay, but I think with more time and a clearer understanding of the creative process we'd be more effective of understanding and helping Melvin the Sexy Dwarf's need. A huge part of what we did this week was focusing on first understanding the problem by interviewing. I learned to keep the other person talking and ask a lot of open ended questions with the goal being that they tell stories to give insights about their own needs. That being said it's important not to lead a question that could direct them into one way of thinking that you are going for. I found it at first very difficult to move from what I heard in the interviews to a POV/Needs statement but then when we started highlighting verbs, it made a lot easier. I really enjoy mindfulness this week because I it always calms me down. I think I want to start incorporating more meditation into my daily life because I'm definitely someone who finds myself having a lot of thoughts that distract me from living in the present.

bottom of page